The place where thou art.

Doctrine and Covenants 6:14 Verily, verily, I say unto thee, blessed art thou for what thou hast done; for thou hast inquired of me, and behold, as often as thou hast inquired thou hast received instruction of my Spirit. If it had not been so, thou wouldst not have come to the place where thou art at this time.

Everyone has had the thought cross their mind: If I could go back, knowing what I know now, what would I change? What mistakes would I be wise enough to escape? What challenges would I take from a different approach? Often these thoughts are accompanied by “I would probably be a better person than I am now”.

I have often pondered on this idea, and wondered what things I would do differently and how it would affect the person I am today. I have personally arrived at the conclusion that I would never want to go back.

Through obedience, and even through our sins, our Father in Heaven has His hand in our lives. He guides us each day, and where we are now is what we should accept and work with. I’m happy with the person I am. I regret mistakes, but my mistakes have humbled me and brought me closer to the Lord.

I know that the place where I am now is the place the Lord wants me to be. And the Lord is not selective with His counsel:

Doctrine and Covenants 25:16 And verily, verily, I say unto you, that this is my voice unto all. Amen.

What the Lord says unto one, He says unto all. Our experiences and judgments, good or bad, help shape and mold us into the person the Lord desires us to be.

I invite you to examine yourself and see the good qualities that have developed in your life, and how your challenges and mistakes have helped you to turn to the Lord and grow to who you are now.

Leave a Reply

