One Real Thing

Speak and my heart starts aching.
Reach and the numbness dims.
Beat, still my mind uncertain.
Breathe, it begins again.

You are the one real thing.
You are the one true thing that I love.
You are the one real thing.
No matter what the future brings,
You’re the one real thing.

Stay locked within Your presence.
Truth renewing my mind again.
Rest ’cause I know You’re faithful, and I
Trust ’cause I know Your name.

I get down on my knees,
And feel Your love wash over me.

One Real Thing” by Skillet

Life is full of uncertainty. Nowadays, especially, we’re surrounded by it. It takes many forms: questions, false security, feigned emotions, half-truths, outright lies, politics, wars, rumors of wars, poverty, inflation, deficit. I could seriously just go on and on. When so much of the world seems to be fake, we often wonder, “What’s real?” What or who can I trust? How can I know what path to follow? What statements can I believe? What causes should I have faith in?

The song above popped into my head as my companion and I were walking to the library. It’s one of my favorite songs by Skillet (By the way you should check them out. Sweet band). The lyrics hold great meaning to me, and it’s a song I listened to during many of my hard times.

And the message is true.

If you feel like you’re living in a world of lies and deceit, you can find peace, strength, and comfort in knowing that God is the one real thing.

John 16:33

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

God and Jesus Christ are real. I know this to be true, and I know that only through God and Jesus Christ can we find absolute security and absolute certainty.


Leave a Reply

