Graven Upon His Palms

I am grateful each day for the knowledge that my Savior Jesus Christ lives and that He loves me. Satan does not want us to know this or believe it. He would rather have us think that we are alone, that no one cares about us. But how far from the truth that is! Unfortunately, many people today fall for this ensnarement. Many do not believe Jesus Christ lives. Many do not believe He is our Savior and Redeemer. Many do believe but doubt that He is there and cares for us.

The book of Isaiah is full of prophecies concerning the Messiah. In chapter 49 of Isaiah, verses 14 through 16, it reads,

14 But Zion said, The Lord hath forsaken me, and my Lord hath forgotten me.

In the last days, many will say that the Lord has forgotten us, that He doesn’t care. Many will say that we are alone.

15 Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.

Here, a rhetorical question is asked. Would a mother forget her baby? Surely not. The thought of my own mother abandoning me is unthinkable. My mother and father have sacrificed, and still do sacrifice, tremendously to give me a good life. I know that they would do anything for me. And yet, here the Lord says that my own mother would forget me before He ever would.

Basically meaning… He will never forget us, nor abandon us in our time of need.

16 Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.

The word I like to focus on here is graven, or in other words, engraved. This is strong symbolism. He doesn’t say that we’re written, or scribbled, or even penned in. No, we are engraved upon the palms of His hands.

Much of Isaiah is metaphorical, but this can also be literal. Jesus Christ died on the cross for us, with nails hammered into His hands. When He was resurrected and showed Himself to many in the Bible and the Book of Mormon, those scars were kept as a testimony to show that He is indeed the Messiah.

We are literally engraved upon Christ’s palms. He will never forget us. I know this is true. If you ever feel alone, or abandoned, or forgotten, you can know that there is One who will always remember  you and will never forget you. He is Jesus Christ, the Savior and Redeemer of this world.

Leave a Reply

