He Will Be With Us

We’ve all felt inadequate. Perhaps you’re feeling it right now. I have felt it often, especially since coming on my mission. Quite frankly, I was scared to death the first time I knocked on someone’s door and told them I had a message to share with them about the restoration of Jesus Christ’s gospel. And despite all the people I’ve talked to, it still scares me. Thankfully, it’s alright. The Lord doesn’t expect us to cast away our phobias, but He does expect us to conquer them and allow our own will to be swallowed up in His.

Personally, it’s comforting to know that even someone as great as Moses had doubts and fears, similar to my own. When the Lord commanded him to go and show signs to Pharoah and tell him to let the children of Israel go free, Moses didn’t think he was quite up to the task. We read in Exodus 4:10-12,

And Moses said unto the Lord, O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.

 And the Lord said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the Lord?

 Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say.

Moses tries to explain that he is not a good speaker. The Lord reminds him who created his mouth, and who can alter a person’s senses at His will. He then tells him to go, that He (the Lord) will be with him and teach him what to say to Pharoah.

I can easily place myself in this situation. I know that the Lord is with me as I go and speak to the people in my area. I get nervous easily and have a habit of speaking quickly and repeating myself when I’m nervous. This happens most often when my mind isn’t focused on why I am out. But when I am focused on my purpose (that is, to help others to come unto Christ), I can speak more clearly and confidently, and I know the Lord is with me, giving me utterance.

Whatever your own down-fall is, the Lord can be with you. All things are possible through faith in Him.

Leave a Reply

