I Know That My Redeemer Lives

Growing up, I never sang the hymns during church services. One reason was because I just didn’t like to sing. The other was simply to be rebellious. After I graduated high school, I decided to attend an LDS congregation for young, single adults. Sitting with my friends or by myself, I decided I should probably start participating in the hymns. And as a missionary, I’m always singing them.

Through these steps I’ve been able to gain a great appreciation for hymns, both the words and music, and I’d like to share my favorite hymn with you…

I Know That My Redeemer Lives

by Samuel Medley

I know that my Redeemer lives.
What comfort this sweet sentence gives!
He lives, He lives, who once was dead.
He lives, my ever-living Head.
He lives to bless me with His love.
He lives to plead for me above.
He lives my hungry soul to feed.
He lives to bless in time of need.
 
He lives to grant me rich supply.
He lives to guide me with his eye.
He lives to comfort me when faint.
He lives to hear my soul’s complaint.
He lives to silence all my fears.
He lives to wipe away my tears.
He lives to calm my troubled heart.
He lives all blessings to impart.
 
He lives, my kind, wise heavenly Friend.
He lives and loves me to the end.
He lives, and while He lives I’ll sing.
He lives, my Prophet, Priest, and King.
He lives and grants me daily breath.
He lives, and I shall conquer death.
He lives my mansion to prepare.
He lives to bring me safely there.
He lives! All glory to His name!
He lives, my Savior, still the same.
Oh, sweet the joy this sentence gives:
“I know that my Redeemer lives.”
He lives! All glory to His name!
He lives, my Savior, still the same.
Oh, sweet the joy this sentence gives:
“I know that my Redeemer lives!”
 
It pretty much sums up everything I can possibly say about the Savior. He is the center of my life. He is and does everything for me. As we begin this Easter season, let us reflect on the role Christ plays in our everyday lives. He did indeed die for us, but perhaps more importantly, He was resurrected on the third day. Jesus Christ is my Redeemer, and I too know that my Redeemer lives.
Leave a Reply

