Moms = Awesome

With Mother’s Day fast approaching, naturally I need to make a shout out to my awesome mother, and thank her for putting up with me for 19 years (which she will continue to do after my mission… probably until the day she dies). I honestly cannot say enough about my mother, and words cannot express the gratitude I have for her (my father included. I won’t forget you, Dad!) and all the things she has done for me.

I remember one time years ago when my family still lived in Wisconsin. My mother flew out to… well, let’s see… she flew out to see one of her sisters I believe. I was rather young… not even ten years old I think… so I don’t remember all the little details. But I remember seeing her board the plane and feeling a strange emptiness. My father was with me, and as we made our way out the airport he could easily see my distress. He asked me what was wrong (no doubt, he already knew the answer) and I simply shrugged.

“You miss Mom, huh?” he asked. I nodded, trying not to tear up. “You still have me,” he replied. I’m not sure if I smiled. I hope I did, for the sake of being nice. “There’s just something about a mom though, huh?” he then asked me. I simply nodded. He bought me a giant pretzel (I love those), but even an enormous, twisted up piece of bread couldn’t fill the hole in my child’s heart (it did fill my stomach though).

It’s so true. It’s difficult to describe. The relationship between a father and child is of course something special and sanctified. But the relationship between a mother and child is… something more. Perhaps you could say it’s sacred. I suppose such a relationship would naturally develop between you and the one that brought you into this life, right?

Well anyway, maybe I should just get to the point, instead of trying to sound all philosphical and stuff. I love my mom. She is the greatest. I miss her tremendously and I’ve grown to appreciate the relationship that we have, the relationship I fear I’ve taken for granted far too many times in the past. My mom has helped me through so much and has been an awesome example of patience, endurance, and faith.

I’m eternally grateful to have a mother that raised me in Jesus Christ’s gospel. I’m grateful for a mother that has a testimony of said gospel and has been an “example of the believers” to me. I’m grateful for a mother that has exercised infinite patience with me. I’m grateful for a mother that listened to me and understood my trials. I’m grateful for a mother that has loved me and will always love me, and I am grateful to my Father in Heaven for blessing me with such a mother.

In a nutshell, Mom, you’re the best. I love you.

One response

  1. Elder Wilkins,

    That was really thoughtful of you! You mom is really great! Thanks for letting me and Michael share this day with you and your mother. We need more son’s like yourself to take that example and apply it. Far too many times we do take for granted that we have a mother. Because we know mother’s are always be there no matter what. Happy Mother’s day!

Leave a Reply

