The Search for Happiness

In the Book of Mormon, the prophet Lehi has a vision in which he sees the tree of life. I made a previous blog post about it that can be found here. The tree of life is a representation of the love of God and eternal life. Eating of the fruit is the privilege one can have if they journey along the straight and narrow path, holding fast to the word of God and enduring to the end by having faith in Jesus Christ and living the principles and ordinances of His gospel.

And it came to pass that I beheld a tree, whose fruit was desirable to make one happy.

And it came to pass that I did go forth and partake of the fruit thereof; and I beheld that it was most sweet, above all that I ever before tasted. Yea, and I beheld that the fruit thereof was white, to exceed all the whiteness that I had ever seen.

And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great joy; wherefore, I began to be desirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was desirable above all other fruit. (1 Nephi 8:10-12)

When Lehi eats the fruit, he realizes that it is the sweetest fruit, above all that he had ever before tasted. In other words, the love of God, eternal life, and the gospel of Jesus Christ is above and beyond anything else that we can experience, and it can make us happy.

Lehi was filled with so much joy that the first thing he wanted to do was share it with the ones he loved most, his family. This the love and happiness that comes from the gospel of Jesus Christ. It is the only true source of happiness we can find in this life.

I know that the message of the Restoration of Jesus Christ’s church is the most important message anyone can receive. It is a message of peace and joy, comfort and security, and it is a message of truth. It is a fruit that is “desirable above all other fruit.”

The Chuch of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is Christ’s church. His gospel and His doctrine has been restored. There is hope to be found. There is true happiness to be felt, for eternity. If you are in the search for happiness, this is where your search ends, and of this I testify in the name of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

