The Poetic Corner: Give the Burden to Me

I haven’t posted any of my poems recently. I think I’ll start trying to do that more. Here’s one I wrote recently.

Give the Burden to Me

I know you are crying
though no one sees your tears
I know you are trying
though no one thinks you care
let My love set you free
give the burden to Me
give the burden to Me

I know you are hurting
though no one sees your pain
I know you are searching
though no one sees you pray
let My strength help you breathe
give the burden to Me

’cause I love you
I died to let you live
and I know you
I live to lift you up

so quit dragging your feet
have faith for tomorrow
there’s no need
to waste life in sorrow
you can see
i’ve lifted the weight from your back
so you could stand up straight

’cause I love you
I died to let you live
and I know you
I live to lift you up

because I know your shame
they spit in My face
and though your hands may ache
Mine are engraved
so don’t you think that I don’t know your pain
I bled every pore for your sake

’cause I descended below you and all things
so I could lift you and place your pains on Me
so give the burden to Me
give the burden to Me

 

Though the world does not see and usually doesn’t care about our problems, the Savior does. Though our family and friends may not notice our problems, our Savior does. Jesus Christ understands us. From the everyday struggles to the seemingly impossible trials, He knows them all. He suffered for it all, and He wants us to give Him those burdens so we can stand up and face the world.

He didn’t die so we could sit in a dark corner and feel sorry for ourselves. He did die for us, but then He rose from the dead with a perfected and glorified body. He lives so we can do the same. He lifts and gives us strength to conquer our trials.

Christ invites us to take His yoke upon us. We must do our part and pull what weight we can, but whatever we cannot pull, He will. He will carry the rest for us. So allow Christ to strengthen you. Give the burdens to Him.

 

Leave a Reply

